Why I Shouldn’t Be Left Alone on a Saturday Night

image

The Bloke has gone ‘oop North’ to visit his mother, so I’ve had the house to myself for the weekend. While I always miss him when he isn’t here, I don’t mind admitting that I was looking forward to spending a little bit of time alone – it has been quite a stressful couple of weeks at work and it was the perfect opportunity to catch up on some much needed ‘me’ time.

I started with good intentions – I did a bit of blogging, washed some clothes and met my best friend in the local pub for lunch. However, after consuming what felt like my entire bodyweight in veggie burger, I returned home with an overwhelming feeling of exhaustion and lost all motivation to do anything but lie on the couch and watch Columbo, which seems to still be a main staple of British television over the weekends. I fell asleep, and thankfully I had set an alarm on my phone to remind me to go and give Daisy, my diabetic cat, her insulin injection and then returned to my couch position, waking a few hours later. I worked out that I must had slept for about six hours in total and felt relaxed.

I decided that I was going to have a girlie night in, so I went to the supermarket and purchased various snacky treats to accompany a chick flick (yet to be chosen at this point) that would leave me feeling warm and fuzzy and happy with the world. The trip turned out to be quite an eventful one – a young couple were having a screaming argument, a middle – aged couple were kissing in the doorway, preventing anyone from getting past and forcing several people to cough and offer an awkward ‘excuse me,’ a man vomited on the pavement across the road and there were several young women who had obviously planned to spend their Saturday night in a similar way to me, their baskets filled with wine, pizza and chocolate. I live in a classy area, clearly.

image

Upon my return I temporarily forgot that I am 32 years old and decided to watch ‘A Walk To Remember,’ knowing only that it was a teen – flick. However, from the rave reviews it has received from some of my students I expected it to be a generic, cutesy film that would make me smile and finish with a ‘happy ever after.’ I was also swayed by the fact that it starred the lovely Shane West, who I have developed an appreciation for after watching him in several seasons of ‘Nikita.’ I then planned to have a hot bath and an early night to try and catch up on more sleep that I have missed over the last week.

How wrong I was.

At the risk of giving spoilers, there was no happy ever after and at the end of the film I found myself sobbing like a baby onto the head of a previously sleeping, rather disgruntled cat that had curled up on my lap. My expected feeling of warm and fuzzy had been replaced with a sense of temporary despair. I kicked myself as I swore that I wouldn’t do this to myself again after watching Steel Magnolias and flashes of the opening sequence to ‘Bridget Jones’ kept popping into my head as I realised that I was sitting alone on a Saturday night in my pyjamas, surrounded by confectionary wrappers and crying at one of the most depressing and utterly heartbreaking films I have ever seen.

image

Unfortunately, the marathon sleeping session that I had experienced during the day, combined with the consumption of a ridiculously high quantity of sugar resulted in me being wide awake, pretty much for the rest of the night. At 3.00am I gave up and put a DVD of Family Guy on, and this must have worked as my alarm woke me up at 5.45am, reminding me to go and inject the cat. However, after about three hours sleep I now feel more tired than I did yesterday…

Next time, the only film I’m watching will be Avengers Assemble…

You can also find me on Twitter and Tumblr @Suzie81blog…

72 thoughts on “Why I Shouldn’t Be Left Alone on a Saturday Night

  1. Heh – I had a similar “home alone, eat sushi and watch a movie night” on Friday. Thankfully I picked somewhat happier movies – first one was Avengers and the second the extended version of LOTR: The Return of The King. The over FOUR hours of King was a bit too much… or maybe I just didn’t have enough sushi.

    • I should have done that… Although a few years ago a group of friends and I watched the entire extended edition trilogy of LOTR back to back in one day. We started at 10am and finished at 2.00am the next day…

      • Whoa… my bum went numb just thinking about that… you brave people.

        The longest marathon I’ve had was watching all episodes of the BBC made Pride and Prejudice (Colin Firth as Mr Darcy – yum!).

      • Sorry, its Daytona speak for one of the many races that go on to kick off the NASCAR season in this town, It is a 24 hour car race that brings a couple hundred thousand visitors to town and this party does not end until the Daytona 500 race in a month or so. Its one big party with 200k of our closest friends I guess I could say! Fun to watch and the race bug is in the air, but with that many people in one town, the occasional vomiting visitor or young couple using the beach for a bedroom is inevitable …
        TjPetri

  2. You’re such a sook. Lots of laughs. I try my hardest to avoid sobs and fail miserably sometimes, and just as it happened with you, it comes about, unintentionally!

  3. Dirty Dancing perfect fun feel good movie, and great music too. Altough he has passed away, man did Patrick Swayze play that roll…ummmhummm!

  4. The most reassuring part of this blog was knowing that you folks on the other side of the pond enjoy Family Guy too. I imagine that everyone in the U.K. must think of that as our Downton Abbey.

  5. You forgot to add that you threw a smashing blog party. No wonder you needed such a long nap. Thanks so much for the opportunity to get to know other bloggers! Traffic on my site was the best it has ever been due to your soiree. And what’s even better is I met some fun people I’m looking forward to following. You’re a peach, thanks a bunch!

    • No he’s from Yorkshire, north east England and that’s how they pronounce things up there… He has been to Vancouver four times though and loves Canada more than any other country in the world. Does that count? I wish he had the Canadian accent – its very sexy! And thank you as always… I’ll attempt to get an early night!

  6. A walk to remember was one of my most favorite romantic movies even though it didn’t get good reviews from critics. However, I just didn’t care about the critic as I totally focused on what the film entertained me. How love could help transforming a person to be a better one.

    • I hadn’t heard anything about the critical reception prior to watching it, I just wanted to watch a chick flick. It’s certainly a lovely message!

  7. Hey Suzie,
    A Walk to Remember was always one of my favorites, but it’s so sad. A good cry is sometimes great therapy after a period of crazy stress. I prefer Ever After with Drew Barrymore for my chick flick because it has a happy ending. (Plus I love the Cinderella story and the actress who plays her step-mother (whose name I do not remember) makes a great villain.)

    Hopefully, you’ll feel more relaxed and rested when you go back to work on Monday.

      • That is one of the few feel-good chick flicks I own (mostly we own action movies, which my husband and I both love). Thanks for the info! I love that actress, but for some reason I am always forgetting her name.

  8. It IS a great film though. I always sort of wished that Mandy Moore had done some more. I like her in Saved too – which is probably more what you’d been hoping for 🙂

    That said, sometimes I think a good movie night by yourself accompanied by a bit of a cry (ie: getting caught up in the drama of it) is a good stress reliever and leaves you feeling better after (at least it works for me). 😉

    • I’ve not seen that one, but I thought she was good in ‘Because I Said So’ and her voice was great in Tangled…

      Totally agree… I think I may have needed a good cry…

  9. Oh goodness, I was definitely one of those teens obsessed with ‘A Walk To Remember’. And it is most certainly sob inducing. Have you seen ‘Crazy, Stupid, Love’? That is my favorite romantic comedy hands down. I’m usually not too big into that genre or ‘chick-flicks’ but that movies really IS a romantic comedy – it’s about love, and it’s actually funny! If you haven’t seen it, I’d definitely check it out.

    • I haven’t seen that one. I think if I was to choose the ultimate chick flick for me it would be 500 Days of Summer…

      Thanks I’ll check it out!

  10. Oh boy. A night in on your own? *Jealous* ! I am never on my own here – I have to hide in the bathroom to read a book, and even then someone tracks me down within 15 minutes 🙂 PF has gone away for work, so the cat has taken over his side of the bed and bites me as I sleep. Sigh.

  11. I can so relate to this. Whenever my old ball and chain (who am I kidding? My much better half) goes away, I have all these great intentions, like lying in a bubble bath surrounded by scented candles listening to Enya. What always ends up happening is the bath never looks as inviting as it does in my day dreams, the bubbles don’t work, I forget to buy candles, my cat ends up staring creepily at me and I also don’t own any Enya.
    Really enjoyed this!

  12. Omigoodness! I hate being left to my own devices on Saturday as well. Lately I’ve just been an emotional mess anyways- I cried at a reality tv engagement… Sigh. I do like my girl weekends every once in a while though. John has a bachelor party in February and I’ve already scheduled in a girls night… For two nights. Party! When the cat is away….

  13. sounds like my kind of weekend. a good movie tip – Gillian on her 32nd birthday (or 33rd). It is my all time favorite made right here in one tree hill backyard. it has Michelle Pheifer and Peter Galligar, beautiful movie and scenery 🙂
    did you check out my new fashion blog yet? truetoyou.co let me know what you think. My model quit me last week Rrrr but thats a whole book in itself.
    great read!

  14. I sometimes do well with the chick flicks, but they are variable in their emotions. I actually like a ‘tear jerker’ from time to time, though. It is rather cathartic! So sorry it sounds like this ruined your night! I happen to love “Sense and Sensibility” and when Emma Thompson bursts into tears of happiness, I always do, too! My daughter’s and my favorite Christmas movie is sensitive, has one sad part, but mostly happy: “Love Actually.” Glad the kitty cat is improving…Take care, Robin

  15. Haha, me and my flatmates of last year decided we weren’t going to do anything one Friday night last year and got a film in, too. ‘The Road’ starring Viggo Mortenson (Aragorn form LOTR!). I have never seen a more depressing film. The whole storyline was pretty much mired in despair and suffering. So avoid that one 😛

  16. Pingback: pretty words that you should read // 002 | life and loveliness

  17. Brings back memories of my single days! Although, I wouldn’t mind a weekend at home occasionally :). I’ve got two boys and they keep me busy. 🙂 A night where I can take a long bubble bath and watch anything I want sounds absolutely awesome. 🙂 I’m visiting from #sitssharefest. 🙂

  18. You just nearly described my Friday evening complete with chocolate, chips, and Kleenex. Do not pick Judy Dench in “Philomena” unless of course you’d like a replay of that Saturday.

  19. So o Colombo…he´s the man! You know he´s always going to capture the bad guy. How is that series still around is the 21 century is quite something. Magnolias….My friend Tommy, although it is a bit trippy when those things start falling from the sky, supermarket….you gave me the perfect reason to not go to when asked, it´s scary. A cat you inject insulin?First time heard it. You really must love that thing. Crying in a sleepless night……I have the solution, watch the movie “Inglorious Bastards”. Or just call your husband and cry him a river. 🙂

Comments are closed.